Why is my chow chow's fur short? 1st time dog owner

A special section for new Chow Chow guardians.

Moderator: chowadmin

licorish
Rank 0
Rank 0

Why is my chow chow's fur short? 1st time dog owner

Post by licorish »

Hi, it's my first time to have a dog/puppy, and they said it's a chow chow. But I've been wondering since I frequently see chow chow puppies with so much fur, and they all look like cute cuddly furballs. Mine is not that furry, but is cuddly nonetheless. Since they told me it's a chow, they told me to wait 'till its first birthday for it to have its full coat(?). I don't know, since Chicco is my first puppy. Though I sometimes feed and play with my brother's chocolate lab and white german shepherd (my baby Chicco plays with them ALL THE TIME), I can truthfully admit I don't know much about Chows (though I've read things on the internet). Chicco is only given to me without papers, and it really doesn't bother me if he's a pure chow or a mixed breed. I just want to know if he is indeed a chow, and if it is normal for him to have such short fur (compared to others I see online).

Here are some of Chicco's pictures along with Shadow (the german shepherd). He is 2 months and 2-3 weeks old at these pictures. He is now 3 months old. His fur is starting to get thick, but not that long.

I know there have been a lot of questions here, and I'm sorry for adding to a long list of queries. I just thought this is the most appropriate place to ask. :( But a reply would be much appreciated. Thank you very much! :D
Pinoy51
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: Why is my chow chow's fur short? 1st time dog owner

Post by Pinoy51 »

I think you have a super cute Chow-Mix.
I'm basing my opinion mainly on his ears and head build. A pure Chow has small triangle ears and a square face.
See Simba when he was three months old
Simba three months old
Simba three months old
image.jpg (28.63 KiB) Viewed 21229 times
Nevertheless the young boy is adorable
Best regards
Pinoy51
licorish
Rank 0
Rank 0