BITING: 6-Month-old puppy

Introduce yourself and ask questions of the forum Chow Chow enthusiasts.

Moderator: chowadmin

lexie
Rank 0
Rank 0

BITING: 6-Month-old puppy

Post by lexie »

Hi guys!
-My male chow puppy, named Amari, is 6 months old. I got him when he was 3 months old. I am new to owning a chow...I actually didnt even have any dogs growing up so im new to PUPPIES. **I read up and thoroughly researched for over a year before adopting a chow chow though. I knew what I was getting into! lol**. He is said to be purebred with both his parents having good temperaments, however, it was a rehoming situation so I did not meet the parents to confirm any of this myself.
-He's alll up to date with vaccinations and is healthy! Most of his puppy teeth have fallen out by now and he has the majority of his adult teeth. The past couple of weeks he has started biting like CRAZYYY.
Ive tried various methods that Ive heard of and/or found online: I will try to distract him with various different toys to bite on instead. I will use stern/low tones when correcting him. I can't push him off/down or he thinks its a game and jumps right back on my arm or leg and start biting again. I will yelp or make a really loud noise when he bites too hard. I've tried to let my arm go limp when he bites it too hard, but he will try to shake it back and forth like its a toy. Nothing works.
-Now that his adult teeth are in...his bite is TOUGH. His biting is rarely out of aggression/frustration, but the bite itself is intense/aggressive (playful... but strong).
It seems to be something puppies just... do?? I just dont know how to communicate to him in a way that he understands that it is NOT how to play. It hurts much more now that he is bigger and I cant let it slide or pass off as him just being a puppy anymore.