going crazy after bowel movements

General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

farmallbell
Rank 0
Rank 0

going crazy after bowel movements

Post by farmallbell »

This is my first time using a forum. I have a black chow that just turned one on Oct 12. He is a stubborn dog but very lovable. I am having one problem with him and am not sure what to do. My husband and I work construction and when we are on the road we live in a travel trailer. He has basically lived in one since we had him. Where we are now does not allow dog pens as he was used to one. My husband had put a doggie door in a trailer and built a ramp so he could go into the pen by himself. Now within the last two or three weeks, when I take him for a walk on a leash and he has his bowel movements, he basically goes berserk for about 2 minutes. He will run so hard that he yanks himself off the ground and then he will turn around and run and nip at me. Today he bit me on the leg and grabbed my coat sleeve. He seems to calm down after a few minutes and is ready to go back in. I know this sounds weird but I dont know what to do and just wanted to know if anyone else has had this problem.
willowchow
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by willowchow »

Willow is 5 and she does that sometimes. He's just got the zoomies! Stop him from biting and nipping at you though. . .he shouldn't be doing that.
enchantedonyx
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by enchantedonyx »

Welcome!

Tess does that. Our yard is fenced, so we typically let the dogs outside by themselves and watch them through the window. You can tell if Tess has done #2 because she comes out from behind the garage at about 900 miles an hour. :D