Crossing fingers...

Talk about anything with your fellow Chow Chow regulars.

Moderator: chowadmin

TyChowgirl
Rank 2
Rank 2

Crossing fingers...

Post by TyChowgirl »

So, I know this isn't a chow chow topic, but this has been an awesome place to go for a support system and it's full of caring and wonderful people. Sort of like Jess and Victory, I've had my troubles with getting my life on track with a job. Not just any job, but my career. I feel selfish saying that because technically right now I have three jobs. But like so many college graduates these days, they're not in my field. There are many of us who are still flipping burgers to pay off the large debt we've collected going to school and doing the best we can to be the best of the best. This May, will be the third year out of college and I've had very few interviews even after moving to a more populated area. My field is a tough field. I'm a certified Art teacher. Something I'm extremely passionate about. I love my job, but very few have given me a chance. This year, I've met a lot of teachers and things seem to be falling into place. They all have done their best to improve what I already have including my confidence which has been slowly sinking. While it's nice to have a friend from college down here, I've been waiting almost three years to land a job and she's got one with the school district I've been subbing in. While it's not in our original field, it's kinda degrading to sub for your peer when you graduated a year and a half before her. The first screening interview I had this year with a school district an hour away from my home, I knew I had won them over and walked away feeling good. My feelings were confirmed when literally a week later I got a phonecall from a principal for a second interview. I went in, trying my best today to not succumb to my nervousness. I thought it went OK, but not the same as the first. I didn't think this one has the WOW factor. I had a sinking feeling in my stomach a