Interested in a Chow - Need help.

Introduce yourself and ask questions of the forum Chow Chow enthusiasts.

Moderator: chowadmin

Lexxykon
Rank 0
Rank 0

Interested in a Chow - Need help.

Post by Lexxykon »

Hello everyone! My name is Lexxy, nice to meet you all! :D

Well, as the topic states, I'm interested in buying a Chow Chow. Not immediately, but in the near future.

I'm currently a student, however I'm not gone for more than 6 hours a day and my major doesn't require anything too difficult for me to be away from the puppy for too long. I'm interested in getting a Chow Chow because I live in the rougher parts of Arizona - we're not allowed to have street lights and there is a lot of crime and I would like a protector type dog who doesn't bark too much to keep me safe down here while I'm going to school.
I have several questions, and I figured I'd come to the experts for help! :)

I've had a Chow Chow before - He was a Golden Retriever / Chow Chow mix, and Monkey was a fluffy ball of cuteness. My family and I adopted him from the pound, but quickly after it became obvious he wasn't socialized, as he began biting members of the family. My mom decided that she didn't want him to bite any more of us and made the hardest and most heart breaking decision to put him down. This information will be required later..

My questions are posed as this:
1. I'm interested in getting a puppy (going to get him during the summer time so I have plenty of time to spend with him to make sure he's alright) - I want to socialize him and make sure that he's properly trained, however there aren't really any breeders in my area. Do any of you have experience in traveling to get a dog? Do you recommend flying or driving? The closest to me would probably be Texas. Not too bad of a drive, I think. I'm afraid to fly with him, I don't want to scare him.