My chow decided not to be groomed anymore / dog muzzle size

Topics, guidelines and tips for coat and skin care and grooming Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

p.siu@comcast.net
Rank 0
Rank 0

My chow decided not to be groomed anymore / dog muzzle size

Post by p.siu@comcast.net »

Hi

I am a newbie in this forum. My chow is 13 months old, male. He is generally quite obedience and use to love being groomed.

It happened one day, came over waiting to be groomed, sat facing
away from me, when I touched him with the rake, he growled once,
turned around and bit me in a few places within 5 seconds. Ever
since, he wouldn't let me groomed him again nor approach him
while holding a brush / rake.

My vet and groomer suggest that I put a muzzle on him. I tried
the recommend size (7.5" snort), but I found it too tight, doesn't
allow him to pant easily. I am thinking of going to 8.5" size,
would this be still to small? Does anyone have any experience
in using a muzzle on their chow?

Any ideas that I could solve this grooming problem? (Aside
from taking him to the groomer once a week)

All suggestions welcome.

Many thanks.

Patrick
Rogansmommy
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by Rogansmommy »

Hi Patrick:

First I want to say welcome to this forum. Everyone here is really great, and I hope you stay.