To shave a chow or not?

Topics, guidelines and tips for coat and skin care and grooming Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

ehlobaby
Rank 0
Rank 0

To shave a chow or not?

Post by ehlobaby »

I've seen that a lot of dog owners during the summer months shave their dog's coat. I was wondering if anyone has done this with their chow and if it is a good or bad thing. I'm concerned that if I shave my little Ehlo's coat that it won't grow back. Can someone please tell me if this would be appropriate for chows.
Judy Fox
Rank 4
Rank 4
Location: Cheshire, On The Island.(But always wishing she was back home in Wales)

Post by Judy Fox »

Hello there - take a look at "The General Discussions about Chows" and you will see a posting about a chow suffering from sunburn after being shaved. :(
I have no experience of this, have never shaved my girls but, having said that, I live in the U.K. and up to now it has never been hot enough for them to be severely bothered with the weather. If it is very hot, they have places in the garden where they shade. :)
(Thank you Sweetpea for my new banner.)
Shan&Kayla
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by Shan&Kayla »

I would never shave Kayla. I have heard that the undercoat actually helps them stay cool :? But I know She gets pretty hot, so I gave her a "field cut" instead of shaving. That just means I gave her an all over trim. She looked like a smooth coat chow with a full lion head lol. She was a lot more comfortable, but still had plenty of fur to protect her from sunburns :)
Juniper
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by Juniper »