Winter coats

Topics, guidelines and tips for coat and skin care and grooming Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

TyChowgirl
Rank 2
Rank 2

Winter coats

Post by TyChowgirl »

Ok, so I'm new to this whole undercoat thing. Growing up I had two single layered coat dogs. Something I've noticed is that in the areas that Ty's undercoat is exposed more, it kind of...clumps? I've been brushing as normal and he never looked this rough in the summer after he got his adult coat in. Now even after a good brush every day his fur takes a look like I haven't touched it in days, and it doesn't take long! Any grooming suggestions? Or is this typical?
Tippsy'smom
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Winter coats

Post by Tippsy'smom »

Sounds typical to me. How old is he?
Jess
R.I.P. Cinder~1992-1994, Tippsy~9/00-4/11, Jasper~10/08-10/14, Todd~2/11-7/15
Dixie: mix Rebel: mix
cherriemater
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by cherriemater »

BOTH my boys are like that. I had been doing a groom routine every other day for them (that's every day for me but alternately for them) but I noticed that with how active they are you'd never notice. AND, when they're in mid-sleep and do their superman stretch revealing their underbelly, it's totally clumpy. I'm very interested in what others think because the comb doesn't smooth it, nor does the pin brush. Victory recommended the undercoat rake but I haven't bought one yet.
Joe and Marti Martin ... Chow Chow lovers for Life (RIP Kimba 06/03/2011)
Sarahloo
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by Sarahloo »

From what I've heard and seen, Chows only look really good if you brush them several times a day, every day! Loo and I very quickly decided that there was no need for him to look really good! :D
TyChowgirl
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by TyChowgirl »

Tipps- He's about 10 months. I think he's pretty much done with the puppy fur. o.o;;