29 days pregnant with spotting

Health topics and issues with Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

miss_yeyah
Rank 0
Rank 0

29 days pregnant with spotting

Post by miss_yeyah »

My chow is 29 days pregnant and she started having light spots of blood 3 days ago. Whenever she pees, there is a trace of blood (tiny spots). I went to our vet to have her checked up but we were only advised to monitor her and she was given Duphaston (Dydrogesterone), 1 tablet a day for 7 days. Then today, when she peed, her urine was dark orange in color. Could it be a miscarriage?
Btw, we give her Papi OB for her multivitamins. It has folic acid, specifically, prevent neural tube defects while Moringa (malunggay) contains a significant quantities of vitamins A, B, C, calcium, iron and protein. As for her diet, we give her Holistic Recipe Puppy Lamb and Rice.
Rory's Dad
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: 29 days pregnant with spotting

Post by Rory's Dad »

I have no experience with pregnant females, but I will ask a few of my friends not on this board for their input.

I do have one question though...is there a reason you have a pregnant dog that is still on puppy formula? One assumption would be that she is still a pup, in which case she should not have been bred so early. If not, or actually either way, the additional proteins and such in a puppy formula could be contributing to the issue, check with your vet if they are not aware of the diet.
miss_yeyah
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by miss_yeyah »

Rory's Dad wrote:I have no experience with pregnant females, but I will ask a few of my friends not on this board for their input.

I do have one question though...is there a reason you have a pregnant dog that is still on puppy formula? One assumption would be that she is still a pup, in which case she should not have been bred so early. If not, or actually either way, the additional proteins and such in a puppy formula could be contributing to the issue, check with your vet if they are not aware of the diet.