Need help training not normal chow behavior or maybe it is??

Training and behavior topics, guidelines, and tips for Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

sumreyn
Rank 0
Rank 0

Need help training not normal chow behavior or maybe it is??

Post by sumreyn »

This is my first time wiht a chow puppy (she is a chow mix) I have no idea what she is mixed with ( she is a rescue dog) I have had a chow before but she was an adult when I got her. Vixen is about 4 months old and she is wild she jumps and mouths and when I do get her to calm down a little so that I can pet her she rolls on her belly and scratches and bite/mouths me, it is not agressive biting but I do not want her to think this is acceptable behavior! I also have children and I cannot have them around her at this point she is to our of control but I know it is very important to socialize her. I have tried telling her no and ignoring her but she just jumps more and bites at my feet I can get her to sit sometimes when I have treats. Any help or suggestions are welcome!!!
bubba
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by bubba »

Sounds like a puppy full of itself. I never had a puppy however i think sooner training started the better , needs Polite Puppy training .. if treat oriented some swear by clicker training .

http://www.chowwelfare.com/cciw/pupbites.htm

good luck
chris

Post by chris »

That sounds like behavior of ANY puppy. Like Bubba said, if you haven't started already... time to sign up for puppy classes.
When the puppy "mouths" you.. grab her tounge and just hold it.. At least thats what we did with Steel.
Layla
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by Layla »

Victory did a great post on 'bite inhibition' a while ago. If you put that into the 'search' facility (2nd from left of the buttons at the top) you should find it.

Let us know how you're getting along,

Layla
Thank you Elodie!
TJordan
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by TJordan »