Gentle Leader harness and "clicker" training

Training and behavior topics, guidelines, and tips for Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

gChambers
Rank 0
Rank 0

Gentle Leader harness and "clicker" training

Post by gChambers »

Hello. I’m new to the neighborhood. :D

It’s time for my 4 month old pup, Genghis – a handsome cream Chow, to begin basic obedience training and I’m looking for advice and/or opinions.

I’m planning on doing the training myself. I’ve trained several dogs in the past and attended training classes with Singa – our last Chow. I believe that I’m qualified to handle training based on past experience.

My goals are rather modest – with one exception. I’ll be satisfied with good response to the basics – heal, sit, stay, down and down-stay. Genghis has already proven to be willing to go with the basics as I’ve been informally working with him since 10 wks.

The challenge, I believe will be in maintaining a reliable recall off leash. Note that I don’t intend to normally let him off leash but there are times when I do allow him to run and explore freely.

A reliable recall will be a challenge as he has recently begun exhibiting a fascination for squirrels. This surprised me somewhat as Singa did not exhibit the slightest interest in the pesky rodents. Genghis has already dashed into the somehat busy street that runs past the house while chasing these pests.

Ok, enough of the introduction. Here is point of my query: its been many years since I’ve had to train a puppy (Singa lived to 13 years of age). In the interim there seems to have developed a new positive training method based on non-coercive methods called “clicker training”. I’m sure you are all aware of this method and probably think that I’ve been living in a cave all this time. But, honestly, I only just became to be aware of it.