Housebreaking issue...please help if you can

Training and behavior topics, guidelines, and tips for Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

Crumpet
Rank 0
Rank 0

Housebreaking issue...please help if you can

Post by Crumpet »

Hello, everyone. I am new to this forum though I’ve lurked for quite a while. My first chow was a chow/husky mix who was 4 years old when we rescued him. He passed away in November and in early March we got a wonderful cream male pup and have been very happy with him except for some continued housebreaking issues. I’ve read the FAQs and blogs out there on the subject and still cannot figure out what we may be missing, so I’m hoping someone here can offer additional insight. I will say that I’m not very experienced with puppies because I’ve always tended to adopt older adult dogs. My pup is approaching 16 weeks.

• We have been crate training (during the day and overnight…when we’re home he is out with us). He has been heavily socialized with people and other animals.
• He is taken out at regular intervals
• Any accidents have tended to be bowel movements and not urination (that happened once this week, though)
• Accidents don’t occur daily
• I’ve even hung a bell on the door to try to teach him to ring it when he needs out
• Most accidents have been at night. He is still a bit fearful of the dark and I worry he may be ‘rushing’ when let out at night, even if we're out with him. We are looking at putting up a brighter flood type light to increase illumination. Night noises sometimes make him nervous.