Puppy scared of strangers, nipping

Training and behavior topics, guidelines, and tips for Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

kendra1178
Rank 0
Rank 0

Puppy scared of strangers, nipping

Post by kendra1178 »

Hello,
This is my first time having a chow. My girl Roxy is almost 12 weeks old and we just adore her.

We have been taking her almost everywhere with us in order to socialize her, and we also have people over to our house quite often. Roxy loves everyone in our family (my husband, me, and kids ages 13, 11, 7,3), and she is usually a good sport about strangers touching her IF we are holding her. If we walk up to a crowd of people she gets very scared and backs up, trying to get away from the situation. If someone walks up to her when she is on the ground she quickly backs up to hide between my legs. A friend of my crouched down and slowly offered her hand to Roxy to smell, and Roxy nipped at her. Today, the same thing happened with a different friend.

On one hand, I think that Roxy already showed them that she didn't want to be touched by backing up, so they should have respected that. But on the other hand, I don't want her to think nipping is OK, even when she is scared. There is always going to be someone offering their hand to her so they can pet her. She is so cute, that everyone wants a chance to pet her.

What should I be doing to teach her that it isn't OK to nip? Is it realistic to expect her to accept people slowly approaching her? What can I do to ease her fears of strangers?

Also, I have been reading conflicting advice about rolling chows onto their backs to submit....