Does anyone participate in Dog Shows?????

General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

Shane
Rank 1
Rank 1

Does anyone participate in Dog Shows?????

Post by Shane » Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:33 pm

Does anyone particpate in Dog Shows mainly the conformation ring. If so please say because I would like to ask you several questions. The questions will refer to basic "down and back" speed, proper way to stack a chow (free) baiting and other things.

Shane

chowpuppies
Rank 0
Rank 0

dog shows

Post by chowpuppies » Fri Oct 21, 2005 6:20 am

i will be soon but i will have a handler doing it for me :lol:
I do know a couple that could answer you qustion for you i will get their email address or web site and you can ask them
if that would help you
in a couple of months i could help you more but i am just learning :!:

Rogansmommy
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by Rogansmommy » Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:57 am

I've only done Obedience competitions, so I'm afraid I wouldn't be much help. I do know how to teach the Stand for Exam, but that's probably different from Stacking. Sorry. :cry:
Michele

^Rogan^ at the Bridge on 5/16/09 -- always in my heart

carolyn dewrance
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by carolyn dewrance » Sun Oct 23, 2005 6:24 am

Shane you might find this very informative.
APPOINTMENT WITH CHOWS. Written and permission given for publication By Mr. R, C. Stephens. 1986
I am sitting at the judge table in the corner of the ring looking through the pages of my judging book to get some idea of the numbers of entries in? Each class. There are no names in the book, neither of dogs, nor exhibitors, only their entry numbers. Off to one side my ring Steward is calling in the dogs entered for the class to be judged, checking them against the numbers in his steward's book and setting them into line.