Breeder recommendations

General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

MNkate
Rank 0
Rank 0

Breeder recommendations

Post by MNkate »

Hello! I've never owned a chow chow so I'm new to this. I'm looking for recommendations for breeders, preferably in the Midwest. I live in MN but am willing to drive 8 -10 hours. I have researched D&M farms and heard they are good, however it sounds like there chows are really big (80lbs!). That might be too big for my husband and I. I've come across Heavenly Chows in Missouri...has anyone purchased a chow chow from there? Any other recommendations? Thank you in advance!
vikki0314
Rank 0
Rank 0

Re: Breeder recommendations

Post by vikki0314 »

I also want some recommendations. I found a breeder on AKC Marketplace and is wondering if he is legit. The breeder name is Jay Egger, and his chows are AKC registered, and their pups are AKC registrable. However, he does not have a website nor a social group page. His price is relatively lower than average AKC chow breeders. The photos he sent me seem legit. Also, he does not take PayPal or any bank transfer, but he only takes personal check or money gram. Does anybody have experience with Jay? Please let me know, thanks!
loxton21
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by loxton21 »

I would just do cash when you get the dog or cheque when you get the dog. I’m skeptical about sending money, I always like to see the dog or parents before hand. But I am unsure about the website if it is legit or not

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
612guy
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by 612guy »

I live in the Minnesota and there aren't many people that breed chows in our state. And that is also true in the Midwest. After getting Brutus in 2011, a big part of the reason I started showing was to meet Chow breeders and their chows in person. That was because it was hard to find a chow puppy back then. I think it's even harder now.