Should I get chow chow?

General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

N09
Rank 0
Rank 0

Should I get chow chow?

Post by N09 »

Hi,I just wanted to ask a couple of questions about chow chows. I'm interested in getting a chow chow but I'm unsure of how it will be. This will be my very first pet so I have no experience what so ever. I'm planning one getting a male pup. My very first worry is leaving the chow outside in my backyard. Is it okay to do so? Do they feel neglected or start acting out? The only reason why it will be in the backyard is because my parents do not want a dog inside which saddens me. Are they more of a inside dog? My backyard is big with lots of shelter, a fence and there is no dangerous animals around so no harm will come to the chow. Are they easy to train? I've been reading up on them and most websites say that they are aggressive, is this true? I plan to walk it several times a day, every day and of course play with it when I can in the backyard, spending all the time i can with him but it got me thinking if i leave it outside by its self for a few hours is it wrong? I will of course get it to play with my friends dogs and take it to a dog school but is this enough? Am I better off not getting one? I've always wanted a dog but theres this guilt in my head of leaving it outside by itself. Your responses will be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)
maikinda
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: Should I get chow chow?

Post by maikinda »

It would not be a good idea to get a chow a leave it outside. I would not recommend it for any dog. Chows need a lot of socialization. They need to be part of your family. Wait until you have your own home to get your chow.

Laura
Attachments
Micah tag.jpg
Micah tag.jpg (12.41 KiB) Viewed 9430 times
ski
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by ski »

Please don't! No dog should not be relegated to living outside!
Constantina
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by Constantina »