Thinking of entering Sushi in a show! (pictures inside)

General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

Staceyvd
Rank 0
Rank 0

Thinking of entering Sushi in a show! (pictures inside)

Post by Staceyvd »

Hey guys,

I'm very much considering signing Sushi up for a dog show, and I figured I'd put some pictures of him here for you guys to tell me if you think he would do well at one and if it's worth my time :)

Thanks!!
612guy
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: Thinking of entering Sushi in a show! (pictures inside)

Post by 612guy »

I say yes and even though you have probably have a lot to learn, you will never regret it. It is an addicting and rewarding hobby but also frustrating. First thing is to see if any chows are shown around you and then to find handling classes to start training both of you. I'm no expert but will share anything I know to help. I don't know how Sushi will do but you will never know unless you try.

Brutus has 7 points now and just recently returned to the ring after some time off to mature. He has done well but not many chows around here so finding others chow is the hardest part.

good luck,

Brutus
Cindy J
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by Cindy J »

I agree with what 612 stated. Jump in and give it a try. We are beginners, but having fun so far.

I have to share a funny story with you: Talking with some old timers (ring time experience, not age). They asked me my expectations for that particular show. I was brutally honest, which made them crack up.

I had exactly two goals for the day:
1.) For me to make it around the ring without tripping and falling on my face.
2.) For Chance to have fun..... and not stop and pee in the ring.

We met both of our goals and made many new friends that day.

Take the handler classes if you can find them. They help take a lot of the stress off by letting you know more of what to expect and how to best present your pup in the ring.
CH Dreamland's Intrepid Spirit ~ Chance
Dreamland's Dancing in the Storm ~ Raine