General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

Crumpet
Rank 0
Rank 0

Question about changes once my puppy reaches adulthood

Post by Crumpet »

Hi, everyone.

I've mentioned several times that I do have a 10 month old chow and that he is really good with other dogs (as well as cats). I've had him since he was 8 weeks old. I have also admitted that I am new to puppies since I have always rescued adults dogs. Pups are a lot of trouble but with a purebred chow I really wanted to be able to select from a breeder that has a record of dogs with good health and temperaments and I wanted to raise my dog with cats as well as other dogs. I wanted to know that my chow had been heavily and consistently socialized and trained and had not been abused.

I realize that opinions will vary, but my question is this: should I expect any major personality changes after he reaches full adulthood? At 10 months he has had some stubbornness (as expected and I have dealt with this with other spitz breeds)but certainly not the all out adolescent rebelliousness I've read about with some other dogs. He is very compliant with grooming, I can take food from his mouth, and he always comes when he is called.I live in a subdivision in a rural area where residents have 3-10 acre lots, heavily wooded between each of the houses. My chow and his husky-mix brother love to go running every morning for about an hour and every evening for about the same time. I don't think the chow would want to run so much and so far on his own but he wants to go everywhere his 'big brother' goes. They LOVE to run in the woods and in the creeks, often coming home a right hot mess. :)