Breeder Questions

General discussions about Chow Chows.

Moderator: chowadmin

chewfozz
Rank 0
Rank 0

Breeder Questions

Post by chewfozz »

Hi there! I am currently looking into purchasing a chow chow puppy from a breeder which is something that I have never done before. I was hoping to rescue a purbred chow chow puppy but we do not seem to be having any luck. I was hoping that those of you who have purchased from a breeder could give me tips and questions to ask. Also, the breeder is pretty far away and while we do not mind making a car or plane ride I was wondering if you have ever had your dog shipped to you without visiting the breeder's home? I know of one who has, but I was wondering if there were others.

Thank you,

Stephanie
Sirchow
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Breeder Questions

Post by Sirchow »

We did exactly that. What happened was I had been offered three different puppies by breeders the first I just didn't like her style of chows, second was really bad time for me - my Mum was terminally ill and third puppy I don't know why I turned it down. These were all breeders I had contacted in the past. Then out of the blue someone heard I had been looking and the man who was to take her last puppy changed his mind. In the UK the chow world is very small and I knew who the father was owned by and I knew who the breeder was friendly with and what circles she moved in. I had a really bad back and could not make the journey the whole way to see the puppy and she was nine weeks so ready to go. The breeder said she was willing to drive half way and would bring another woman with her who I knew to be a reputable breeder. So we did the one thing you are never supposed to do and met her in a car park half way never having seen home, parents, or puppy before that day! :shock: The rest is history I would not change my Bramble for anything. I guess although I did it all wrong I knew enough about the back ground to be comfortable or I would not have done it that way.